About the Department

Interiors and exteriors from the department. Photo collages.The Department of Earth Sciences at Uppsala University has over 250 employees and teaches more than 2200 students every year. Our focus is on research which means that 75% of what we do is research and 25% is education. At least 30 nationalities are represented at the department.

The Department  is based on five previous departments which have gradually been integrated. In 1992 the Institute of Geology, the Department of Physical Geography and the Department of Historical Geology and Paleontology merged into the Institute of Earth Sciences. Six years later the Department of Meteorology and the Department of Geophysics joined the others and in 1998 the current Department of Earth Sciences was formed. A few programs and a research centers has been incorporated into the department after the formation.

We have teaching at undergraduate and graduate levels. Our courses offer a wide range within the geoscience area and several of the department's programs have received the highest rating in evaluations by the Swedish National Agency for Higher Education (Högskoleverket) and the Swedish Higher Education Authority (Universitetskanslersämbetet).

The Department  is one of the most complete such academic departments in Europe. Our research focuses on subjects that range from the Earth’s core to the atmosphere, on scales from sub-microscopic structures in minerals to the formation of mountains and oceans.

The Department is divided into six research programs: